The 2011 season: Your grades are now available online

by Patrick Wall

Welcome to the dark days of the NFL.

We’re a month from free agency, almost three before the Draft, and months and months before players head to training camp. And now that most of the bad taste that was the 2011 season has been wiped from my mouth, it’s time for reflection.

Today I’d like to take some time to reflect on my 25 Bold and Occasionally Baseless) Predictions from this past season. Because I have a delicate ego, I’ll start with some of the ones I got right:

1. I totally called both #1 seeds. To be fair, it wasn’t really a tough choice. And I sure as hell didn’t see the Pack losing in the playoffs–I had them winning it all.

2. Mark Sanchez is still pretty awful. In his third season, the Jets’ signal caller did little to elevate himself from the ranks of the Joe Flaccos and Kyle Ortons of the world. Though he threw a career-high 29 touchdowns, he also threw 18 picks–two short of his rookie year. Meh.

3. Only one of the QBs to find a new home in ’11 did much of anything. Kevin Kolb might be on his way out the door in Arizona, Donovan McNabb is staring retirement in the face, and Tavaris Jackson is still Tavaris Jackson. Only Matt Hasselbeck is a lock to start the 2012 with the same team he joined a year ago.

Titans QB Matt Hasselbeck threw for 3,571 and 18 TDs in 2011

As impressive as those three hits were, I also whiffed harder than Nnamdi Asomugha on a number of these:

1. Fine, Detroit. You’re a good teamThe first prediction I made was that neither Tampa Bay nor Detroit would make the playoffs. And while the highlight of the Bucs’ year was seeing the $100 dollar man dressed like a Creamsicle, the Lions made a very impressive playoff run and look to be a team on a serious, ’06 Saints-style upswing.

2. Everything I said about the Eagles was wrong. The reports of Juan Castillo’s defense “flying around and playing nasty” were greatly exaggerated, when Michael Vick was healthy he was pretending to be Jay Cutler, and Nnamdi Asmougha was recently named the second worst tackling CB in the NFL last year. Seriously, I will throw a cheesesteak at Vince Young if I ever heard the words “Dream Team” uttered again.

3. So, uh… how ’bout those Niners? I, like many other writers, bloggers, players, pundits, cabbies and semi-educated football fans, thought the winner of the NFC West was going to be a nonfactor in the playoffs. Boy, were we all wrong. If the 49ers can get a legitimate QB, look out. They could be scary for a long time.

All told, I was right on 14 out of my 25 predictions, giving me a better record than the Eagles.

Next time, I’ll be analyzing what the Eagles must to do reach the Super Bowl next year. This, and at least three passive-aggressive jokes about Adele are all coming up in only a few days! Stay tuned!

About Patrick Wall

A Philly-based journalist. I like football, long walks on the beach and the first Counting Crows album.

Posted on February 16, 2012, in Blogroll, Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

